Commissioned by the Nieuw Ensemble, Amsterdam.

2013 Version commercially released on Richard Carrick: Cycles of Evolution by New World Records #80759.

Jury Selection for ISCM WORLD MUSIC DAYS 2004 - Switzerland. Performed by Nouvel Ensemble Contemporain, La-Chaux-de-Fonds, Pierre Monot conducting.

This piece is dedicated to The Nieuw Ensemble and Brian Ferneyhough.

composed 2000, La Jolla

First performances -January 2000 Ed Spaanjard conducting, Den Haag, Amsterdam and Groningen.

Scored for flute, oboe, clarinet, piano, mandolin, guitar, harp, percussion, violin, viola, cello, double bass.

2013 Version for flute, oboe, clarinet, piano, cimbalom, percussion, violin, viola, cello, double bass.

9:30 duration.

Program Notes:

The twelve person ensemble is divided into three groups of four musicians each; the three winds and piano, mandolin/guitar/harp and percussion, and four strings. Furthermore, each group is confined to a musical material radically different from the other sub-groups. I have layered all three materials so they constantly float through one another; even though, as the title evokes, each musical material is rigid in its evolution, or path, similar to the hairline cracks of marble.


The Veins of Marble

Home   News   Concerts    Works   Recordings   Multimedia  Performer    Bio   Press    Contact